yessir, I’ll be careful

yesssir I’ll be careful, in dark, and cold, and night.
walking streets I’ve never known.
over shoulders, looking at bullies, beauties, and, beasts …
I’ll tip-toe past… with quiet, velvet pointed steps,
prance through puddles.
shimmy through grass,
tread softly over gravel,
to home.

yessir, I’ll be careful, when driving cars on rainy nights.
slowing on yellows and stopping on reds,
dodging drops, with blades on high.
sloshing tires through murky puddles,
looking under parked cars for tiny feet,
playful paws,
running to dodge the rain.

silently sneaking, squeezing through the window.
announced by happy dogs, sleepy cats, bells and whistles,
telling all
I’m home!

yessir, I’ll be careful when (while) growing up.
learning to read,
following my dream,
falling in love.

But, where will you be (sir), if the tire goes flat,
the blades break, or, the paws run the wrong way in the rain?
Will that window be open, if I’m slow to read,
get lost in my dream,
leave you, to fall in love, love,
love… ?

Leave a Reply

